Press Stories

CIPC Speaks Out On Expanded Muslim Ban

February 21, 2020 – Today the Trump administration will implement the expansion of the Muslim ban, originally put into place three years ago. Travel restrictions have been added to six more countries—Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzaniaand now the government can suspend immigrant visas for these nationals. 

“The Trump Administration is once again expanding and promoting xenophobic policies and honing its Islamophobic rhetoric. In an about-face to the Constitution, the Administration is imposing travel restrictions based on religious and ethnic identity. This expansion of the Muslim ban stands in contrast to our shared values, and divides our families and communities,” said Cynthia Buiza, Executive Director at the California Immigrant Policy Center. “We will continue to fight for the dignity and rights of all members of our immigrant communities regardless of status or where they were born.”